Re-reading Alice

Alice-in-Wonderland

I always find something new everytime I re-read Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. It is a wonderland, there are so many layers and layers of interpretations that anybody who read it can re-adjust depends on their cultural reference and their emotional state when they read that book.  The more you get older, the more meaning revealed to you by this particular book.

 

Today, I randomly open a page and found this: “… it seemed quiet dull and stupid for life to go on in the common way.” (1). The sentence is striking. I was in the middle of my daily routine, arranging the table, putting dirty laundry in the washing machine, and while waiting for it, I just took out that book, haphazardly. And there I was, in the book of Wonderland.  Every page invites me to play with perception and logic. And as Alice, We –the readers– were extracted to questions everything related to our common perception.

The logical plays varied from existential ploys such as “I can’t explain myself,”…’because I’m not myself” (2) or  “I am real!”…”If I wasn’t real…I shouldn’t be able to cry” to playful twisted words, such as “I see what I eat” is the same thing as “I eat what I see” or “I like what I get” is the same thing as “I get what I like!”. (3). Is it the same thing?  No matter how much we think we understand the difference, we are tempting to think about it.

Alice’s encounter with peculiar characters such as Tweedledum and Tweedledee, Humpty Dumpty, The Knight, The Queen etc, makes her perception twisted and it obliges her to think of what is logic and what it is not logic.

 

This kind of twisted, playful, and rhythmic words that make us question our own logic are all over the book. “…if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be; but as it isn’t, it ain’t. That’s logic.”(4 pg 193).

 

Thus, again and again, I found the greatness of Alice in Wonderland and Through The Looking-Glass lies in its vast-unlimited-imagination and its ability to engage its reader to play and to come along with Alice and her adventures to the unknown.***

1 Comment

  1. Whoaaaa, I also like “Alice In Wonderland”, to the point that I use “Wonderland” as the title of one of my songs. The selection of the title “Wonderland” is influenced by one of the most famous books in the world of storytelling: Alice In Wonderland by Lewis Caroll. That’s why I slipped the word “rabbit” in the verse “so you can imagine yourself as a rabbit / running forward so fast never looking back to the past”. Here subtly I want to say that we must forget the bad things in the past, and presume ourselves as rabbits that run quickly forward, toward wonderland, reaching “freedom” and “happiness”. If you want to listen, “Wonderland” is here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWDBmk3QZmo

    Like

Leave a Comment